Château d’Esplas

Rent
Château d’Esplas

Château d'Esplas is an authentic 14th century fortress located in the Aveyron, halfway between Albi and Millau, and at equal distance from Montpellier and Toulouse. Available for rent all year round, the castle can accommodate 21 people for a relaxing weekend or a week's holiday with family or friends. Immerse yourself in six centuries of history! While enjoying the modern comforts of a large, fully renovated holiday home surrounded by a beautiful garden with a heated swimming pool.

Discover the property of Château d’Esplas

The Château d’Esplas is situated on top of a hill in the Rougier de Camarès to the West of Rebourguil. The castle consists of four buildings linked by towers, with an inner courtyard. The north tower is a square keep over 20 metres high. The other three towers are cylindrical. The remarkable restoration has preserved the 15th century mullioned windows and the slate roofs. The swimming pool garden is reached by crossing a narrow alley in the hamlet. To relax around the pool, you have deckchairs on the large terrace, a plancha, garden tables and chairs under the fruit trees, and a pool house with shower and WC. Next to the pool is a games room with table tennis and table football. Esplas is an ideal place for a holiday in France with family or friends.

Are you looking for a wedding venue, a week-end away or holidays in France ?

Principal living and reception rooms

For meals, the dining room, called the lower room, allows you to gather all your guests around a large table in front of the fireplace which has the originality of having a door inside the hearth. S’il fait beau, vous pouvez aussi déjeuner ou dîner dans la cour intérieure.
The fully equipped kitchen is close to the dining room, and is extended by another small dining room more intimate.
For entertaining, several lounges are available: on the first floor, the large south lounge has been restored to its former glory, furnished with Louis XV and Louis XVI furniture. In its extension, the west lounge with its 7-seater sofa is very comfortable. You can have a more intimate meeting in the boudoir. You can also isolate yourself in the library upstairs to read quietly. Finally, you can watch a good movie in the video room on the ground floor.

Rent our château and experience a slice of authentic french country life

Our bedrooms

The real luxury of château life is space! Space to gather together for a meal or a coffee, but also space to stay in bed in the morning without being disturbed by the children, or to retire to your own 35 m2 room to read a good book, far from the bustle of the group. The ten spacious rooms at Château d’Esplas offer you this luxury.
One room, located at the entrance, is accessible to people with reduced mobility. Three rooms are located on the first floor, and 6 rooms on the second floor. All rooms have their own private bathroom. Finally, to accommodate some of your guests with even more privacy, there are two studios for two couples in the garden. Everything has been planned so that you can enjoy your holiday in great comfort.

Share a unique experience with your family and friends

Guest house

To accommodate two couples of guests in complete privacy, two studios are available outside the castle walls. They are located a few metres from the main building in a pretty garden. They are each equipped with a 160 cm bed, bathroom facilities and a small kitchen.
Near the studios and the swimming pool, a 50 m2 room can be used as a games room with table tennis and table football, or as a reception room for about 50 people. For receptions, please ask for a personalised quote.

For more details

Calendar

Calendar is loading...
- Disponible
 
- Réservé
·
 
- Partiellement réservé
For confirmation and enquiries

Our Rates

The property is always rented in its entirety to one family. The entire castle can accommodate 21 people in the main body of the castle, in the room at the entrance and in the two studios on the property. The dungeon is closed for security reasons. It can be visited on request with a guide. The rental price of the castle includes heating, water, electricity, garden maintenance, and cleaning at the end of the stay. Sheets and towels are provided. Beds are made up on arrival. Deposit required : 3000 euros

Season Stay
Low season
From 11 November to Easter, except Christmas and New Year WE, 3 days, 2 nights 3200 €  
Week, 7 days 4800 €  
Mid season
From Easter to the end of June, and from 1srt September to 11 November WE, 3 days, 2 nights 3600 €  
Week, 7 days 5600 €  
High season
July, August, Christmas and New year    
Week, 7 days 6900 €  
We speak for our owners. We offer the best pricing.

History

The Chateau d’Esplas was part of the seigneury of Camarès which existed since the 9th century, and belonged to the du Pont family. The most famous member of this family was Arnaud du Pont, a rich and powerful lord, who founded the Abbey of Sylvanès in 1132. The lordship of Esplas was given the rights of high, medium and low justice. Under Saint Louis, it became a barony. In 1349, Bernard de Martrin acquired Esplas from Brenquier de Malemort. Esplas remained in the Martrin family for five centuries.
The original building of the château d’Esplas consists of the 20-metre-high square keep and the adjacent dwelling, which probably dates back to 1261. The other buildings date from the 15th or 16th century.
During the Hundred Years’ War, the English laid siege to Esplas. The fortifications were reinforced in 1376. The keep is a symbol of power, but it also has a security function and is used as temporary accommodation in case of siege.
With the return of peace, the castle became a pleasure chateau, as evidenced by the numerous windows in the exterior facades and towers. The moat was filled in and turned into a garden with large trees.
In 2000, the current owners began a restoration. The restoration was carried out according to the rules of the art, preserving the authenticity of the place, reinforcing its structure, and providing Esplas with all the modern comfort and a heated swimming pool.

Experience the Château Lifestyle.

Château Lifestyle

Share the simple pleasures of life with those you love

Activities around

In the heart of the Occitanie region in France, the Aveyron department is home to many exceptional sites. Halfway between Millau and Albi, and at equal distance from Toulouse and Montpellier, the Chateau d’Esplas will be the starting point for beautiful hikes or exciting cultural visits.
Albi, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is well worth a visit: its magnificent cathedral, the superb Berbie gardens overlooking the Tarn, the Toulouse-Lautrec museum, the Lapérouse navigator’s museum…
The Millau Viaduct rises majestically above the Tarn Valley. Hundreds of thousands of visitors come to the viaduct every year to admire this technological feat of architecture. You can also discover the viaduct during a trip on the Tarn by canoe or boat accompanied by guides.
A visit to the Caves de Roquefort is an amazing experience: some of the caves were built in the Middle Ages and are still in use today for the maturing of Roquefort PDO cheese.
The picturesque village of Saint Affrique, in the heart of the Parc Naturel Régional des Grands Causses, will seduce you.
The Abbey of Sylvanès, which was founded by the owner of Esplas in 1132, Arnaud du Pont, is a jewel of Cistercian art: admire its stained-glass windows, its organ, plunge into the time of the monks with a multimedia fun trail, and vibrate during the summer festival concerts!

More information ?

Practical information

The castle is in Esplas, 12400.

From Toulouse, take the A 68 motorway towards Albi. Leave the motorway to take the N88 around Albi. Then the D999, Route de Millau, towards Millau. Go through Villefranche-d’Albigeois, then Le Fraysse, Alban, and Saint-Sernin-sur-Rance still on the D999. Continue on the D999 to La Trivalle. In La Trivalle, turn left onto the D90 towards Esplas. The castle is in the middle of the small village of Esplas.

From Montpellier, take the A75 motorway towards Millau. Once past La Cavalerie, leave the A75 and take the D999 towards Saint-Affrique. Drive through Saint Affrique. Stay on the D999. Go past Rebourguil to La Trivalle. Turn right onto the D90 towards Esplas.

Distribution of the rooms in the castle:
Reception rooms on the ground floor:

-Dining room of about 40 m2 with a large fireplace.
– WC with washbasin
-Fully equipped kitchen: 5-burner gas cooker, large fridge-freezer, dishwasher…
-Small dining room of about 15 m2 with a fireplace.
-Video room equipped with a 4K screen of 190 cm and a HIFI system.
-A toilet with washbasin located behind the video room.
-Laundry room with washing machine.

Reception rooms on the 1st floor:
– Large South lounge: superb room of about 50m2 with two large windows, facing South.
– Large West lounge: large room facing East/West with a monumental gothic fireplace and a large 7-seater sofa.
-North-West facing boudoir with a fireplace.
A baluster staircase leads from the video room to this boudoir, then from this living room to the second floor.

The bedrooms:
They all have their own private bathroom and can accommodate 21 people:
– 9 rooms in the main body of the castle for 15 people,
– 1 room under the porch for 2 people
– 2 studios outside the castle for 4 people.

-Porch room on the ground floor: a double bed (160 cm) for 2 people, room located under the entrance porch, facing south with a large fireplace and a bathroom with shower, washbasin and toilet in the adjacent tower. This room can be occupied by a person with reduced mobility.

On the 1st floor of the castle: 3 bedrooms:
-Chambre “aux Chinois”: 1 bed in 160 cm for 2 persons. South-facing room with separate dressing room and a shower room with washbasin and WC in the adjacent tower.
-Chambre Bleue: 2 x 100 cm beds for 2 people, facing east with a shower room with washbasin and WC.
-Small library accessible either from the Blue Room or from the staircase leading to the first floor of the dungeon.
-Green Room: 1 x 100 cm bed for 1 person, facing south. A bathroom with shower, WC and washbasin is located in the adjacent tower.

On the 2nd floor: 6 bedrooms:
-Brown room: 1 bed in 160 cm for 2 persons, room with exposed beams. A private bathroom with bathtub and separate toilet is located next to the room.
-Pastel room: 2 beds in 100 cm for 2 persons. Bathroom with bath and washbasin. Separate WC.
-Chambre Indiens roses : 2 single beds 100 cm for 2 persons, room with exposed beams overlooking the courtyard. Bathroom with bath, washbasin and separate WC.
-Paintings room: 1 bed in 120 for 1 person. Possibility of installing children’s beds. A baby cot is available.
-Chambre d’en Haut : 2 single beds for 2 people.
-Black and White Room: 2 single beds for 2 people. South facing room. A bath with washbasin and WC are located in the adjacent tower.

Guest house outside the castle: 2 studios with 1 double bed each, for a total of 4 people. Each studio has its own shower room, WC and kitchenette.

Opposite the château, in a large enclosed garden:
– a heated swimming pool of 8m x 4m, a pool house with WC and shower
-A large room of 50 m2 which can be used as a games room with table tennis and table football, or as a reception room.

Our team will be at your disposal for any question you may have.

Request a reservation


    Read some comments from our Guest Book

    Guest Book

    Pop up pour le chateau de Pralong

Château d’Esplas

Location du
Château d’Esplas

Le château d’Esplas est une authentique forteresse du XIV ème siècle située en Aveyron, à mi-chemin entre Albi et Millau, et à égale distance de Montpellier et Toulouse. Disponible à la location toute l’année, le château peut héberger 21 personnes pour un week-end de détente, ou une semaine de vacances, en famille ou entre amis. Immergez-vous dans six siècles d’histoire ! Tout en jouissant du confort actuel d’une grande maison de vacances entièrement rénovée et entourée d’un beau jardin avec une piscine chauffée.

50 mn d’Albi et Millau

Hébergement 21 personnes

Réception 30 personnes

Piscine chauffée

Découvrir le domaine du Château d’Esplas

Le château d’Esplas est situé au sommet d’une colline dans le Rougier de Camarès à l’ouest de Rebourguil. Le château se présente sous la forme d’un ensemble de quatre corps de logis liés par des tours, avec une cour intérieure. La tour nord est un donjon carré de plus de 20 mètres de haut. Les trois autres tours sont cylindriques.  La restauration remarquable a conservé les fenêtres à meneaux du XVème siècle et les toitures en lauzes. Vous accédez au jardin de la piscine en traversant une étroite ruelle du hameau. Pour vous détendre autour de la piscine, vous disposez de transats sur la grande terrasse, d’une plancha, de tables et chaises de jardin sous les arbres fruitiers, et d’un pool house avec douche et WC. Proche de la piscine, se trouve une salle de jeux avec ping-pong et babyfoot. Esplas est un lieu idéal pour des vacances en famille ou entre amis.

Un projet de mariage, de week-ends ou de vacances ?

Les salons et salles de réception

Pour les repas, la salle à manger, appelée la « salle basse » vous permet de réunir tous vos invités autour d’une grande table devant la cheminée qui a l’originalité d’avoir une porte à l’intérieur même de l’âtre. S’il fait beau, vous pouvez aussi déjeuner ou dîner dans la cour intérieure.
La cuisine entièrement équipée est proche de la salle à manger, et se prolonge par une autre petite salle à manger plus intime.
Pour recevoir, plusieurs salons sont à votre disposition : au 1er étage, le grand salon sud a retrouvé les fastes d’antan, meublé de meubles Louis XV et Louis XVI. Dans son prolongement, le salon ouest dont le canapé à 7 places est d’un grand confort. Vous pouvez vous retrouver de façon plus intime dans le boudoir. Vous pouvez aussi vous isoler dans la bibliothèque à l’étage pour lire tranquillement. Enfin, vous pouvez regarder un bon film dans la salle vidéo du rez-de-chaussée.

Vivez une expérience hors du temps, louez ce château rien que pour vous

Les chambres

Le vrai luxe de la vie de château, c’est l’espace!  L’espace pour se retrouver nombreux tous ensemble autour d’un bon repas ou d’un café; mais aussi l’espace pour rester au lit le matin sans être dérangé par les enfants, ou se retirer dans sa chambre de 35 m2 pour lire un bon livre, loin de l’agitation du groupe. C’est ce luxe que vous offrent les dix chambres spacieuses du château d’Esplas.
Une chambre, située à l’entrée, est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Trois chambres sont situées au 1er étage, et 6 chambres au second étage. Toutes les chambres ont leur salle de bain privative. Enfin pour loger une partie de vos invités avec encore plus d’intimité, vous disposez de deux studios pour deux couples dans le jardin. Tout est prévu pour que vous passiez un séjour de vacances dans un grand confort.

Offrez à vos proches un séjour de rêve

Les maisons d’invités et les dépendances

Pour loger deux couples d’invités en toute intimité, vous disposez de deux studios hors des murailles du château. Ils sont situés à quelques mètres du corps de logis principal dans un joli jardin. Ils sont équipés chacun d’un lit en 160 cm, de sanitaires et d’une petite cuisine.
A proximité des studios et de la piscine, une salle de 50 m2 peut servir de salle de jeux avec ping-pong et babyfoot, ou de salle de réception pour une cinquantaine de personnes. En cas de réception, demandez un devis personnalisé.

Si cette option vous interesse, demandez nous plus de détails

Les disponibilités

Chargement du calendrier...
- Disponible
 
- Réservé
·
 
- Partiellement réservé
Vérifiez avec nous les disponibilités et étudions ensemble votre projet

Les Tarifs

La propriété est toujours louée dans son intégralité à une seule famille. Vous disposez du château entier  pour loger 21 personnes dans le corps principal du château, dans la chambre à l’entrée et dans les deux studios sur la propriété. Le donjon est fermé pour des raisons de sécurité. Il peut être visité sur demande avec un guide.

 

Le prix de la location du château inclut le chauffage, l’eau, l’électricité, l’entretien du jardin, et le ménage à la fin du séjour. Les draps et les serviettes de toilette sont fournis. Les lits sont faits à votre arrivée.

Caution demandée : 3000 euros.

Saison Séjour
Basse saison
Du 11 novembre à Pâques, excepté Noël et 1er de l'An WE 3 jours 2 nuits 3200 €  
Semaine 7 jours 4800 €  
Moyenne saison
De Pâques à fin juin et du 1er septembre au 11 novembre WE 3 jours 2 nuits 3600 €  
Semaine 7 jours 5600 €  
Haute Saison
Juillet, Août et Noël et 1er de l'An    
Semaine 7 jours 6900 €  
Demandez-nous un devis ! Nos prix sont directs propriétaires

Histoire

Le château d’Esplas faisait partie de la seigneurie de Camarès qui existait depuis de IX ème siècle, et appartenait à la famille du Pont. Le plus célèbre membre de cette famille est Arnaud du Pont, riche et puissant seigneur, qui fonda l’abbaye de Sylvanès en 1132. La seigneurie d’Esplas se vit confier les droits de haute, moyenne et basse justice. Sous Saint Louis, elle devint une baronnie. En 1349, Bernard de Martrin fit l’acquisition d’Esplas auprès de Brenquier de Malemort. Esplas restera dans la famille Martrin pendant cinq siècles.
Le bâtiment d’origine du château d’Esplas est constitué par le donjon carré de 20 mètres de haut, et par le logis adjacent qui remonte probablement à 1261. Les autres corps de logis datent du 15ème ou 16ème siècle.
Pendant la guerre de Cents Ans, les anglais assiègent Esplas. Les fortifications sont renforcées en 1376. Le donjon est un symbole de puissance, mais il a aussi une fonction de sécurité et d’hébergement provisoire en cas de siège.
Avec le retour de la paix, le château devient un château d’agrément comme en témoignent les nombreuses fenêtres percées dans les façades extérieures et les tours. Les douves sont comblées et deviennent un jardin planté de grands arbres.
En 2000, les propriétaires actuels commencent une restauration. Elle a été réalisée dans les règles de l’art, conservant l’authenticité du lieu, renforçant sa structure, et dotant Esplas de tout le confort contemporain et d’une piscine.

 

Osez la vie de château dans Votre Château de Famille

Nos expériences

Partage, convivialité, plaisirs simples de la nature, détente, slow life (France)

Loisirs aux alentours

Au cœur de la région Occitanie, le département de l’Aveyron abrite de nombreux sites d’exception. A mi-chemin entre Millau et Albi, et à égale distance de Toulouse et Montpellier, le château d’Esplas sera le point de départ de belles randonnées ou de visites culturelles passionnantes.
Albi, cité classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, mérite une visite : sa magnifique cathédrale, les superbes jardins de la Berbie surplombant le Tarn, le musée Toulouse-Lautrec, le musée du navigateur Lapérouse…
Le Viaduc de Millau s’élève majestueusement au-dessus de la Vallée du Tarn. L’ouvrage reçoit des centaines de milliers de visiteurs par an qui saluent cette prouesse technologique architecturale. Vous pouvez aussi découvrir le viaduc lors d’une excursion sur le Tarn en canoë ou en bateau accompagnés de guides bateliers.
La visite des Caves de Roquefort est une expérience étonnante : certaines caves ont été construites au Moyen-Age et sont encore aujourd’hui en activité pour l’affinage du Roquefort AOP.
Le village pittoresque de Saint Affrique, au coeur du Parc Naturel Régional des Grands Causses vous séduira.
L’Abbaye de Sylvanès, qui a été fondée par le propriétaire d’Esplas en 1 132, Arnaud du Pont, est un joyau de l’art cistercien : admirez ses vitraux, son orgue, plongez au temps des moines avec un parcours ludique multimédia, et vibrez lors des concerts du festival d’été !

Besoin de plus d’informations sur le château ?

Informations pratiques

Le château est à Esplas, 12400.

 

Depuis Toulouse, prendre l’autoroute A 68 vers Albi. Sortir de l’autoroute pour prendre la N88 en contournement d’Albi. Puis la D999, Route de Millau, direction Millau. Traverser Villefranche-d’Albigeois, puis Le Fraysse, Alban, et Saint-Sernin-sur-Rance toujours sur la D999. Continuer sur la D999 jusqu’à La Trivalle. Dans La Trivalle, tourner à gauche sur la D90 en direction d’Esplas. Le château est au milieu du petit village d’Esplas.

 

Depuis Montpellier, prendre l’autoroute A75 direction Millau. Une fois passée La Cavalerie, sortir de la A75 pour prendre la D999 Direction Saint-Affrique. Traverser Saint Affrique. Rester sur la D999. Dépasser Rebourguil jusqu’à La Trivalle. Tourner à droite sur la D90 en direction d’Esplas.

Répartition des pièces du château :
Pièces de réception du rez-de-chaussée :

 Salle à manger dite « salle basse » d’environ 40 m2 avec une grande cheminée.
– WC avec lavabo
Cuisine entièrement équipée : cuisinière à gaz 5 feux, grand réfrigérateur-congélateur, lave-vaisselle…
Petite salle à manger d’environ 15 m2 avec une cheminée.
-Salle vidéo équipée d’un écran 4K de 190 cm et d’une chaîne HIFI.
-un WC avec lavabo situé derrière la salle vidéo.
-Buanderie avec lave-linge.

Pièces de réception du 1er étage :
– Grand salon Sud :  superbe pièce d’environ 50m2 avec deux grandes fenêtres, exposé au Sud.
– Grand salon Ouest: grande pièce exposée Est/Ouest avec une cheminée monumentale d’époque gothique, dotée d’un grand canapé 7 places.
Boudoir exposé nord-ouest avec une cheminée.
Un escalier à balustres permet d’accéder de la salle vidéo à ce boudoir, puis de ce salon au second étage.

Les chambres :
Elles ont toutes leur salle de bain privative, elles permettent de loger 21 personnes :
– 9 chambres dans le corps principal du château pour 15 personnes,
– 1 chambre sous le porche pour 2 personnes
– 2 studios à l’extérieur du château pour 4 personnes.

 -Chambre du porche au rez-de-chaussée: un lit double en 160 cm pour 2 personnes, chambre située sous le porche d’entrée, exposée au sud avec grande cheminée et une salle d’eau avec douche, lavabo et WC dans la tour adjacente. Cette chambre peut être occupée par une personne à mobilité réduite.

Au 1er étage du château : 3 chambres :
Chambre « aux Chinois » : 1 lit en 160 cm pour 2 personnes. Chambre exposée au Sud avec dressing séparé et une salle de douche avec lavabo et WC dans la tour adjacente.
Chambre Bleue : 2 lits en 100 cm pour 2 personnes, exposée à l’Est avec une salle de douche avec lavabo et WC.
-Petite bibliothèque accessible soit par la chambre Bleue, soit par l’escalier qui mène au 1er étage du donjon.
Chambre Verte : 1 lit en 100 cm pour 1 personne, exposée au Sud. Une salle de bain avec douche, WC et lavabo se trouve dans la tour adjacente.

Au 2ème étage : 6 chambres :
-Chambre Brune : 1 lit en 160 cm pour 2 personnes,
pièce  avec poutres apparentes. Une salle de bain privative avec baignoire et WC séparé se trouvent juste à côté  de la chambre.
Chambre Pastel : 2 lits en 100 cm pour 2 personnes. Salle de bain avec baignoire et lavabo. WC séparé.
-Chambre Indiens roses : 2 lits simples en 100 cm pour 2 personnes, pièce  avec poutres apparentes donnant sur la cour intérieure. Salle de bain avec baignoire, lavabo et WC séparé.
-Chambre des peintures : 1 lit en 120 pour 1 personne. Possibilité d’installer des lits d’enfants. Un lit bébé parapluie est à disposition.
-Chambre d’en Haut : 2 lits simples pour 2 personnes.
-Chambre Noir et Blanc : 2 lits simples à baldaquin pour 2 personnes. Pièce exposée au Sud. Une baignoire avec lavabo et WC se trouvent dans la tour adjacente.

Maison d’invités à l’extérieur du château : 2 studios avec 1 lit en 160 cm chacun, soit 4 personnes en tout. Chaque studio a sa salle de douche, WC, kitchenette.

En face du château, dans un grand jardin clos:
– une piscine chauffée de 8m x 4m, un pool house avec WC et douche
-une grande pièce de 50 m2 pouvant servir de salle de jeux avec ping-pong et baby-foot, ou de salle de réception.

Posez-nous toutes vos questions, nous y répondrons avec le propriétaire

Réservez ce château


    Consultez les témoignages de notre livre d’or

    Livre d'or