Château de Garraube

Rent
Château de Garraube

Chateau de Garraube in France in Dordogne is a jewel of elegance, both sober and refined, bright and comfortable, nestled in the heart of a private domain of 270 hectares of forest. Located 1 hour from Bordeaux, 15 minutes from Bergerac, Garraube is in the heart of the Périgord pourpre, land of wine, bastides and authentic local gastronomy. The chateau is available for rent by the week or by the weekend, to spend your vacations with your family, or to organize a weekend with friends. Garraube allows you to accommodate 19 people and receive about 30 people, while being relieved of maintenance tasks.

Discover the property of Château de Garraube

At the end of a 1.7 km long private road, you will discover this luminous chartreuse, with its warm ochre tones.
The park is embellished with a large natural pool, a real “organic” swimming pool fed by the pure waters of upstream springs. The flowered vegetable garden is below the terraces, then extends the meadow where the film Jappeloup was shot (with Daniel Auteuil, Guillaume Canet, Marina Hans and Jacques Higelin).
Returning to the castle gate, on the left of the sandy courtyard, the outbuildings are spread around a magnificent covered hall and the stable stalls that once housed the horses and carriages of the estate.
Everywhere you look, you are at home, in a nature reserve with thousands of birds, butterflies, wild animals, millions of square meters of preserved nature just for you, with, among other wonderful surprises for children, a little train with its locomotive and its carriage!

Are you looking for a wedding venue, a week-end away or holidays in France ?

Principal living and reception rooms

Inside, the Chateau de Garraube deserves its name of “Chartreuse Périgourdine ” because everything is natural and simple harmony. Since its construction around 1650 by Jean Valleton de Boissière, the castle has been the subject of enlargements and progressive embellishments, but always inspired by a trademark where good taste meets a certain sobriety far from the splendor of the baroque. This simplicity of good taste inspires the decoration of each of the living rooms and of all the bedrooms with their large windows open to the light, the birds and nature. The entrance, a large paved hall, leads to a library with warm woodwork, then to an elegant dining room with 18th century paintings and a large almond green living room decorated with antique family furniture and opening onto a terrace.

Rent our château and experience a slice of authentic french country life

Our bedrooms

Here you wake up to the birdsong, you open your windows to the flowery garden. The castle’s bathrooms are fed by springs (there are no less than 18 springs and a lake on the property). You have your breakfast in the kitchen overlooking the alley of dahlias that overlooks the colorful flower garden. You will enjoy the discreet luxury and classicism of this bright and sunny charterhouse, and the calm of a chateau isolated in its grounds. The chateau has 10 rooms available for rent, including a master bedroom on the first floor and its bathroom. You can comfortably accommodate 15 people in the main building. In the outbuildings overlooking the courtyard, you can accommodate 4 additional people.

Share a unique experience with your family and friends

Guest house

What also characterizes Garraube are its outbuildings. They evoke well what could be, in the XVIIIth and XIXth, a large landed property living self sufficiently, with its farms and tenant farms, its mill, its fishpond, its lime kiln, its wine press, its covered market, the nearby forest which produced wood for carpentry and frame, charcoal, sandstone paving stones… In the outbuildings overlooking the courtyard, you have at your disposal 3 bedrooms (one double and two singles) and a bathroom. They can accommodate 4 people.

A reception can be organized under the magnificent covered hall. Renting Chateau de Garraube is offering moments of happiness to those you love!

For more details

Calendar

Calendar is loading...
- Disponible
 
- Réservé
·
 
- Partiellement réservé
For confirmation and enquiries

Our Rates

The property is always rented in its entirety to one group. You have the whole castle, its guest house (19 persons) and the park with its swimming pool fed with spring water. The pool is not secured, even if it is far from the house, Garraube is not suitable for children who cannot swim.

The rental price includes water, electricity, garden maintenance. Sheets and towels are provided. Beds are made up on arrival. Service plus offered: The cleaning at the end of the stay is included in the price, as in all the castles of our group Votre Château de Famille. In Garraube, the price includes 3 hours of housekeeping every day except weekends.

In case of reception, estimate on request.

Deposit required: 3000 euros.

Season Stay
Low season
   
   
Mid season
May, June, September, October WE 3 days 2 nights 3200 €  
Week 7 days 7 nights 5200 €  
High season
July, August    
Week 7 days 7 nights 7000 €  
We speak for our owners. We offer the best pricing.

History

The name Garraube is attested to as early as 1460; it is linked to a family of English origin, the Waltons, who arrived during the Hundred Years’ War and became, under the name of Valleton, one of the great families of Bergerac.
The present house dates from the years 1670-1680; it is probably Jean III Valleton, known as Valleton de Garraube, who had it built on the site of an older fortified building. In 1680, he paid tribute to the king for his seigneury of Garraube; he had “high justice” in the parishes of Cause, Liorac and Saint-Cybard. The Valletons were Protestants and some of them emigrated to Holland in the 18th century. Garraube remained a Protestant house until the end of the 19th century.
The golden age of Garraube was at the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century, with the two generals Valleton de Garraube, Joseph, who went to Versailles under Louis XVI and was captain of the Hundred Swiss, and his son Jean Alexandre who was deputy of the Dordogne from 1831 to 1848. They are buried in Garraube.
In 1923, the Valletons sold the property to Jacques Laurent, grandfather of the current owners. Garraube, built on the plan of a “chartreuse”, but with more imposing proportions, was largely reworked in the 18th and 19th centuries, and restored after a fire in 1940. From this history, it remains an undeniable originality and a unity that the transformations did not alter. It is for these reasons that Garraube was classified in the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments of France in 1990.

Experience the Château Lifestyle.

Activities around

The Périgord is a major international tourist destination in France, known for its bastides, vineyards and outdoor sports activities. In the area close to Garraube, on foot or less than half an hour by car, you can experience:
Golf: At the exit of the property (you can walk), on a park of more than 20 ha, the 9-hole golf course of the castle-hotel les Merles, open 7 days a week.
Horseback riding: 9 km away, the famous Bergerac horse riding club (and pony club for the little ones), located next to the Tiregand castle. Alternatively, 10 kms away, crossing the Dordogne river, the Metairie du Roc, located in the heart of a beautiful farm, which also organizes training courses, rides and horseback riding: for adults and for children from the age of 2 years old in baby pony.
Canoeing : you can practice on the nearby Dordogne or on the nearby Vézère. One of the circuits takes you from Montinac-Lascaux to Les Eyzies, more than 30 kms of descent with magnificent landscapes on the river, the surrounding villages and castles.
Some sites not to be missed: Fish elevator at the Tuilières dam. Stairs of locks on the canal of Tuilières. Donjon of Cause-de-Clérans. Village of Liorac-sur-Louyre, Paper mill of Rouzigue in Couze and Paper Museum. Castle of Monbazillac, Castle of Bridoire: historical games for children. Medieval village of Issigeac. Castle of Castelnaud: museum of war in the Middle Ages. Hanging gardens of Marqueyssac. Beaumont du Périgord. Bastide of Monpazier: the most beautiful Bastide of the Périgord. Village of Bournat: reconstitution of a 1900’s village, great for children. Prehistoric caves of Roc de Cazelle, great for children. Cloister of Cadouin. Castle of Marzac with its escape game. Proumeyssac abyss. Bamboo gardens of Planbuisson. Castle of Beynac. La Roque Gageac, Château des Milandes (Joséphine Baker). Les Eyzie-de-Tayac: prehistoric site and museum. Caves of Fond de Gaume. Caves of Combarel. Caves of Lascaux. City of Sarlat.

More information ?

Practical information

From Bordeaux (129 km)

Take the A89 freeway (Bordeaux – Lyon), exit towards Bergerac. In Bergerac, take the D660, direction Lalinde-Sarlat, cross Creysse, Mouleydier and Tuilières. At the exit of Tuilières, turn left, direction Cause de Clérans – Pressignac by the D36. After 1 km, you will find a sign on the left ” Garraube-private way “. Take this lane, which is long (1,7 km).

 

From Paris (590 km)

Take the highways A10, A71, A20 (Paris-Orléans-Limoges-Brive). At Brive, take the A89 freeway (Lyon-Bordeaux), towards Bordeaux. Exit at Périgueux (exit 15) then take the N21 towards Bergerac. From Bergerac, see above.

 

But you can also display on your GPS “Liorac sur Louyre- Garraube”. One has a good chance to arrive at destination, at the price, perhaps of some additional kilometers!

Total sleeping capacity of the castle: 19 persons, 10 rooms in the castle including one on the first floor, and 3 rooms in the guest house.

Garden level: beautiful kitchen overlooking the terraced gardens, very pleasant living room.

First floor of the castle :

  • Library
  • Large green living room opening onto a terrace (beware of children)
  • Dining room for 30 people
  • Owners’ room, 1 bed 180, 2 persons, Bathroom, and independent WC

Ground floor of the castle: 9 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms.

  • Green room : 1 bed in 160, and 1 bed in 130, 4 persons
  • Bathroom and WC
  • Room with two single beds : 2 beds in 90, 2 persons
  • Jeune fille’s room : 1 bed in 90, 1 person
  • Bathroom and WC
  • Blue Room : 1 bed in 160, 2 persons
  • Landing room : 3 beds in 90, 3 persons
  • Isabelle’s room : 1 single bed, 1 person, 1 sink
  • Cousins’ room : 2 single beds, 2 persons, 1 sink
  • Red room : 1 bed in 160, 2 persons
  • Bathroom WC
  • Yellow room: 1 bed in 180, 2 persons

In the common areas :

  • Double room: 1 bed in 160, 2 persons
  • Single room: 1 bed 90, 1 person
  • Single room: 1 bed 90, 1 person
  •  Bathroom and WC

Outside :

270 ha estate, vegetable garden, lake, forest, small train for children.
Swimming pool with small bath and big bath fed with spring water
Beautiful covered hall in the outbuildings

Our team will be at your disposal for any question you may have.

Request a reservation


    Read some comments from our Guest Book

    Guest Book

Château de Garraube

Location du
Château de Garraube

Le château de Garraube en Dordogne est un bijou d’élégance, à la fois sobre et raffiné, lumineux et confortable, niché au cœur d’un domaine privé de 270 ha de forêt. Situé à 1 heure de Bordeaux, 15 minutes de Bergerac, Garraube est au coeur du Périgord pourpre, pays du vin, des bastides et de la gastronomie authentique de terroir. Le château est disponible à la location à la semaine ou au week-end, pour passer vos vacances en famille, ou organiser un weekend entre amis. Garraube vous permet de loger 19 personnes et recevoir une trentaine de personnes, tout en étant déchargés des tâches d'entretien.

Découvrir le domaine du Château de Garraube

Au bout d’un chemin privé long de 1,7 km, se découvre cette chartreuse lumineuse, aux teintes ocres et chaleureuses.
Le parc est agrémenté d’un grand bassin naturel, véritable piscine « bio » alimentée par les eaux pures de sources en amont. Le potager fleuri est en contrebas des terrasses, puis s’étend le pré où fut tourné le film Jappeloup (avec Daniel Auteuil, Guillaume Canet, Marina Hans et Jacques Higelin).
En revenant devant la grille du château, sur la gauche de la cour sablée, les communs se répartissent autour d’une halle couverte magnifique et des stalles d’écurie qui logeaient autrefois les chevaux et les calèches du domaine.
Partout où se posent les yeux, vous êtes chez vous, au sein d’une réserve naturelle riche de milliers d’oiseaux, de papillons, d’animaux sauvages, des millions de m2 de nature préservée rien que pour vous, avec entre autres surprises merveilleuses pour les enfants un petit train avec sa locomotive et son wagon  !

Un projet de mariage, de week-ends ou de vacances ?

Les salons et salles de réception

A l’intérieur, le château de Garraube mérite son appellation de « Chartreuse Périgourdine » car tout y est harmonie naturelle et simple. Depuis sa construction vers 1650 par Jean Valleton de Boissière, le château a fait l’objet d’agrandissements et d’embellissements progressifs, mais toujours inspirés par une marque de fabrique où le bon goût rejoint une certaine sobriété loin des fastes du baroque. Cette simplicité de bon gout inspire la décoration de chacun des salons et de toutes les chambres avec leurs grandes fenêtres ouvertes sur la lumière, les oiseaux et la nature. L’entrée, grand hall dallé, mène à une bibliothèque aux boiseries chaleureuses, puis à une salle à manger élégante aux toiles peintes du XVIII ème siècle et un grand salon vert amande orné de meubles anciens de famille et ouvrant sur une terrasse.

Vivez une expérience hors du temps, louez ce château rien que pour vous

Les chambres

Ici vous vous réveillez au chant des oiseaux, vous ouvrez vos fenêtres sur le jardin fleuri. Les salles de bain du château sont alimentées par des sources (on ne compte pas moins de 18 sources et un lac sur la propriété). Vous prenez votre petit déjeuner dans la cuisine donnant sur l’allée de dahlias qui surplombe le potager fleuri multicolore. Vous apprécierez le luxe discret et plein de classicisme épuré de cette chartreuse lumineuse et ensoleillée, et  le calme d’un château isolé en ses terres. Le château compte 10 chambres disponibles à la location, dont une chambre de maître au rez-de-chaussée et sa salle de bain. Vous pouvez loger confortablement 15 personnes dans le corps principal. Dans les dépendances donnant dans la cour, vous pouvez loger 4 personnes supplémentaires.

Offrez à vos proches un séjour de rêve

Les maisons d’invités et les dépendances

Ce qui caractérise aussi Garraube ce sont ses communs. Ils évoquent bien ce que pouvait être, aux XVIIIe et XIXe, une grande propriété foncière vivant pratiquement en autarcie, avec ses fermes et métairies, son moulin, son vivier, son four à chaux, son pressoir, sa halle couverte, la forêt toute proche qui produisait du bois de menuiserie et de charpente, du charbon de bois, des pavés de grés …Dans les communs donnant sur la cour, vous avez à votre disposition 3 chambres (une double et deux simples) et une salle de bain. Elles permettent de loger 4 personnes.

Une réception peut être organisée sous la magnifique halle couverte. Louer le château de Garraube, c’est offrir des moments de bonheur à ceux que vous aimez!

Si cette option vous interesse, demandez nous plus de détails

Les disponibilités

Chargement du calendrier...
- Disponible
 
- Réservé
·
 
- Partiellement réservé
Vérifiez avec nous les disponibilités et étudions ensemble votre projet

Les Tarifs

La propriété est toujours louée dans son intégralité à une seule famille. Vous disposez du château entier, de sa maison d’invités (19 personnes) et du parc avec son bassin de nage alimenté en eau de source. Le bassin n’étant pas sécurisé, même s’il est éloigné de la maison, Garraube n’est pas adapté aux enfants ne sachant pas nager.

Le prix de la location inclut l’eau, l’électricité, l’entretien du jardin. Les draps et les serviettes de toilette sont fournis. Les lits sont faits à votre arrivée. Service plus offert: Le ménage à la fin du séjour est compris dans le prix, comme dans tous les châteaux de notre groupe Votre Château de Famille. A Garraube, le prix affiché inclut aussi 3 heures de femme de ménage tous les jours excepté les weekends.

En cas de réception, devis à la demande.

Caution demandée : 3000 euros.

Saison Séjour
Basse saison
   
   
Moyenne saison
Mai, Juin, Septembre, Octobre WE 3 jours 2 nuits 3200 €  
Semaine 7 jours 7 nuits 5200 €  
Haute Saison
Juillet, Août    
Semaine 7 jours 7 nuits 7000 €  
Demandez-nous un devis ! Nos prix sont directs propriétaires

Histoire

Le nom de Garraube est attesté dès 1460 ; il est lié à une famille d’origine anglaise, les Walton, arrivée pendant la guerre de cent ans et devenue sous le nom de Valleton une des grandes familles du Bergeracois.
La maison actuelle date des années 1670-1680 ; c’est probablement Jean III Valleton, dit Valleton de Garraube, qui la fit construire, sur l’emplacement d’un édifice fortifié plus ancien. En 1680, il rendit hommage au roi pour sa seigneurie de Garraube ; il avait « haute justice » dans les paroisses de Cause, Liorac et Saint-Cybard. Les Valleton étaient protestants et certains d’entre eux émigrèrent en Hollande au XVIIIe siècle. Garraube restera une maison protestante jusqu’à la fin du XIXe siècle.
L’âge d’or de Garraube se situe à la fin du XVIIIe siècle et au début du XIXe, avec les deux généraux Valleton de Garraube, Joseph, qui monta à Versailles sous Louis XVI et fut capitaine aux Cent Suisses, et son fils Jean Alexandre qui fut député de la Dordogne de 1831 à 1848. Ils sont enterrés à Garraube.
En 1923, les Valleton vendirent la propriété à Jacques Laurent, grand-père des propriétaires actuels. Garraube, construit sur le plan d’une « chartreuse », mais aux proportions plus imposantes, a été largement remanié aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, et restauré après un incendie survenu en 1940. De cette histoire, il demeure une originalité incontestable et une unité que les transformations n’ont pas altérée. C’est pour ces raisons que Garraube a été classé à l’Inventaire Supplémentaire des Monuments historiques dans les années 1990.

Osez la vie de château dans Votre Château de Famille

Nos expériences

Partage, convivialité, plaisirs simples de la nature, détente, slow life (France)

Loisirs aux alentours

Le Périgord est un haut lieu du tourisme international, connu aussi bien pour ses bastides, ses vignobles que pour ses activités de sport en pleine nature. Dans l’environnement proche de Garraube, à pied ou à moins d’une demi-heure de voiture, on pourra pratiquer :
-le golf : A la sortie de la propriété (on peut y aller à pied), sur un parc de plus de 20 ha, le parcours de golf 9 trous du château-hôtel les Merles, ouvert 7 jours/7.
l’équitation : A 9 kms, le célèbre club hippique (et poney club pour les plus petits) de Bergerac, sis à côté du château de Tiregand. Alternative à 10 kms, en traversant la Dordogne, la métairie du Roc, située au cœur d’une belle exploitation agricole, qui organise aussi des stages, des balades et des randonnées à cheval : pour les grands et pour les petits dès l’âge de 2 ans en baby-poney.
-le Canoe-kayak : que vous pouvez pratiquer sur la Dordogne voisine, ou encore sur la Vézère proche. L’un des circuits vous amène de Montinac-Lascaux aux Eyzies, soit plus de 30 kms de descente avec des paysages magnifiques sur la rivière, les villages et châteaux avoisinants.
Quelques sites incontournables: Ascenseur à poissons au barrage de Tuilières. Escalier d’écluses sur le canal de Tuilières. Donjon de Cause-de-Clérans. Village de Liorac-sur-Louyre, Moulin à papier de la Rouzigue à Couze et Musée du papier. Château de Monbazillac, Château de Bridoire: jeux historiques pour les enfants. Village médiéval d’Issigeac. Château de Castelnaud: musée de la guerre au Moyen Age. Jardins suspendus de Marqueyssac. Beaumont du Périgord. Bastide de Monpazier: la plus belle Bastide du Périgord. Village du Bournat: reconstitution d’un village 1900, super pour les enfants. Grottes préhistoriques du Roc de Cazelle, formidable pour les enfants. Cloître de Cadouin. Château de Marzac avec son escape game. Gouffre de Proumeyssac. Jardins de bambous de Planbuisson. Château de Beynac. La Roque Gageac, Château des Milandes (Joséphine Baker). Les Eyzie-de-Tayac: site et musée préhistoriques. Grottes de Fond de Gaume. Grottes de Combarel. Grottes de Lascaux. Ville de Sarlat.

Besoin de plus d’informations sur le château ?

Informations pratiques

A partir de Bordeaux (129 km)

Prendre l’autoroute A89 (Bordeaux – Lyon), sortir en direction de Bergerac. A Bergerac, prendre la D660, direction Lalinde-Sarlat, traverser Creysse, Mouleydier et Tuilières. A la sortie de Tuilières, tourner à gauche, direction Cause de Clérans – Pressignac par la D36. Après 1 km, on trouve sur la gauche un panneau « Garraube-voie privée ». Prendre cette allée, qui est longue (1,7 km).

 

A partir de Paris (590 km)

Prendre les autoroutes A10, A71, A20 (Paris-Orléans-Limoges-Brive). A Brive, prendre l’autoroute A89 (Lyon-Bordeaux), en direction de Bordeaux. Sortir à Périgueux (sortie 15) puis prendre la N21 en direction de Bergerac. A partir de Bergerac, voir ci-dessus.

 

Mais on peut aussi afficher sur son GPS « Liorac sur Louyre- Garraube ». On a une bonne chance d’arriver à destination, au prix, peut-être de quelques kilomètres supplémentaires !

Capacité totale de couchages du Château : 19 personnes, 10 chambres dans le château dont une au rez-de-chaussée, et 3 chambres dans la maison d’invités.

Rez-de-jardin: belle cuisine donnant sur les jardins en terrasse, pièce à vivre très agréable.

Rez-de-chaussée du château :

  • Bibliothèque
  • Grand salon vert donnant sur une terrasse ( attention aux enfants)
  • Salle à manger pour 30 personnes
  • Chambre des Propriétaires, 1 lit en 180, 2 personnes, Salle de bain, et WC indépendant

1er étage du château : 9 chambres et 3 salles de bain.

  • Chambre Verte : 1 lit en 160, et 1 lit en 130, 4 personnes
  • Salle de bain et WC
  • Chambre à deux lits simples : 2 lits en 90, 2 personnes
  • Chambre de Jeune fille : 1 lit en 90, 1 personne
  • Salle de bain et WC
  • Chambre Bleue : 1 lit en 160, 2 personnes
  • Chambre du Palier : 3 lits en 90, 3 personnes
  • Chambre d’Isabelle : 1 lit simple, 1 personne, 1 lavabo
  • Chambre des cousines : 2 lits simples, 2 personnes, 1 lavabo
  • Chambre Rouge : 1 lit en 160, 2 personnes
  • Salle de bain WC
  • Chambre Jaune: 1 lit en 180, 2 personnes

Dans les communs :

  • Chambre double : 1 lit en 160, 2 personnes
  • Chambre simple : 1 lit en 90, 1 personne
  • Chambre simple : 1 lit en 90, 1 personne
  • Salle de bain et WC

A l’extérieur :

Domaine de 270 ha, potager, lac, forêt, petit train pour enfants.
Bassin de nage avec petit bain et grand bain alimenté en eau de source
Belle halle couverte dans les communs

Posez-nous toutes vos questions, nous y répondrons avec le propriétaire

Réservez ce château


    Consultez les témoignages de notre livre d’or

    Livre d'or